Love Letters from Somewhere in Time


You show that you are a letter from Christ, the result of our ministry, written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.  2 Corinthians 2:2

Sometimes a Love Letter transforms itself into a song. My husband took this picture of me while I was writing an Irish ballad, White Linen. Click the photo and you can listen to White Linen on MySpace.

I still have the first love letter my husband ever wrote me.  He pressed a Colorado Wild Rose between the pages of the story of how he almost fell off the mountain reaching for the “first bloom of summer.”  His old Ford Pickup almost lost its door as it held Sean while he reached for that wild rose on the side of Red Mountain.  The hinges gave way and I imagine him and the truck hobbling down that mountain like two old friends grinning ear to ear.  Almost two decades later, we walk the same mountains together, collecting rose hips in fall and pressing flowers with our three daughters.  The fragrance of that letter still lingers after all these years….

I didn’t notice my passion for love letters until I went searching for that first love letter from my husband.  I know it’s around here somewhere, but it didn’t make the cut for this post.  Instead,  I found old letters from elementary school friends, a favorite high school cross-country coach cheering me on, relatives and friends.  I keep letters from my daughters as well.  A recent favorite reads,

Mom, bak (thank) you for not saing have funn wis (with) Daddy.’  I did have funn.

          The back story:  Every time I say “Have fun with Daddy,” the girls think I jinx their time and it ends with them getting into trouble.  Not sure I believe that but it’s no skin off my nose to accommodate them!  So instead we all laugh as I leave on a trip and shout “Whatever you do, DON’T have fun with Daddy!”

I have other letters from dear friends who have gone on to other places.  Those letters are fun to read when I need a good cry or when I need to remember.  I have written letters too.  I love writing a letter out of season unattached to a holiday and wholly attached to the person.  A letter that belongs to that person because they matter; I write to God like that too, because He matters.  I didn’t know He could reach through time and the heavens and leave me a letter too though.

Last month I was in our local super market rushing to complete my errands.  I was stressed to the max.  I had three different jobs to finish, three people mad at me and I didn’t know if we were going to have to move by the end of the month or not.  Then, in the middle of the grocery store I heard God say, “Go to the books, I have something for you there.”  I became excited and walked over to the fun encouraging books.  I looked and found a few things for my daughters and a book for my mother, but nothing for me… until I looked behind one of the books.  There tucked at the very back of the shelf was a small handwritten card that read

 Now the Lord of peace himself give you his peace at all times in every situation.                                       2 Thessalonians 3:16

It was as though God had reached through time, grabbed my heart and passionately kissed me.  I held that card throughout the day as I addressed each incident that had once seemed so stressful.  I felt like Jane Seymour in Somewhere in Time, found impossibly by my One True Love.

Jane Seymour, “Somewhere in Time”

Oh my God, how I am ruined by your love.

I held that card for three weeks, keeping it near as a reminder.  Today I looked for it so I could scan it and insert it into this blog. It was as though it had vanished and returned to its place somewhere in time, back to the hand of its Author.

This isn’t the first time He has left a love letter.  Once when my husband and I needed to travel across the big state of Colorado, up and over the mountains, we found this taped to our door:

The envelope read, “Sean and Darcy the Lord would like you to have this with his blessing.”

I never knew whose hand my Lord used to place that envelope.  Inside was the exact amount of money we needed to make our important trip– to the penny!  There is always someone who wants to take credit or brag about knowing who really wrote the card or that envelope and I don’t want to know.  I want to remain blissfully ignorant of this present world, because I am in love with someone who surpasses time…

May no one rob you of your quest to know how far, how deep, and how wide the Lord’s love is for one such as you.

4 thoughts on “Love Letters from Somewhere in Time

    • Thank you for placing your stone next to mine for a moment and enjoying the love of our Lord with me…
      “[Come] and, like living stones, be yourselves built [into] a spiritual house, for a holy (dedicated, consecrated) priesthood, to offer up [those] spiritual sacrifices [that are] acceptable and pleasing to God through Jesus Christ.” 1 Peter 2:5

Leave a Reply

