Beyond My Neighbor’s Fence


Now I remember why walls, whitewashed or otherwise, are so cumbersome…

The Renegade Bride

When I see you across denominationsImage

I miss you

hide my face behind Grandma’s Methodist bible

and secretly wish

there was no fence.

When I see you, hair flying

dripping wet in river

sand and summer

I know you carry a bucket

to share

One with the label peeled off

no price tag

no brand

just happy sand, river water

and shovels

When I hear you

I hear rivers rolling

laughing, living

beyond bank barriers

and no trespassing signs

because you…

you are welcome

to this wall-less mountain temple

to splash water

mountain air

smile sand scrubbed faces

you are welcome

to live beyond temples

city buildings, conversions of holy things

and simply be…

His brother

His daughter

His beloved

and my friend.

View original post

Leave a Reply

